About Croatia

Croatia is a member state of the European Union. It is located in south-eastern Europe, in the area between the Adriatic Sea and the Pannonian Basin. The country boasts historical heritage and natural beauty. These features have contributed to strong and continuous development of tourism, which made Croatia well-known all over the world. Multinational companies have been operating in Croatia for decades. There are many good reasons for doing business in Croatia, and its EU membership has raised further its attraction for investment and made it a platform for doing business in south-eastern Europe.

  • Area: 56,594 km2 with additional 31,067 km2 of territorial waters
  • Territorial sea: 12 nautical miles
  • Coast length: 6,278 km (land 1,880 km, islands 4,398 km)
  • Number of islands, islets, and reefs: 1,244. The islands with the largest area are Krk and Cres. 47 islands are inhabited
  • Independence: June 1991 (from Yugoslavia). Independence Day: 8 October 1991.
  • Trade routes: Croatia is at the crossroads of the majority of land routes between Western Europe and the Aegean Sea and Turkish strait
  • Population: 4,204,000 (mid-2015 estimate); 67.5% aged between 15 and 65 with an average population density of 74.3 inhabitants per sqm
  • Capital: Zagreb (population: 800,000 – mid-2015 estimate; administrative, cultural, academic, and communication centre of the country
  • Climate: Northern Croatia has a continental climate, Central Croatia has a semi-highland climate, and the Croatian coastal area has a Mediterranean climate. Winter temperatures range between –1 and 3°C in the continental region, –5 and 0°C in the mountain region, and 5 and 10°C in the coastal region. Summer temperatures range between 22 and 26°C in the continental region, 15 and 20°C in the mountain region and 26 and 30°C in the coastal region
  • Ethnic groups: The majority of the population are Croats (89.6%). National minorities include Serbs (4.5%) and others (5.9%), including Bosnian, Hungarian, Slovenian, Czech, Slovakian, and Italian minorities
  • Official language and script: Croatian language and Latin script.
  • Currency: kuna (1 kuna = 100 Lipa).
  • Religions: The majority of the population is Roman Catholic (87.8%), while other religious groups include Orthodox (4.4%), Muslim (1.3%), Christian believers of other denominations (0.4%), others (0.9%), and atheists (5.2%)